There is no deficiency in you

A word from The Lord was given to me before coming to Ukraine, which said, “There is no deficiency in you”. This really hit home because of a few areas in my life, which I will share about later. To think that God looks at me with no deficiency, yet I look in mirror, think my thoughts and go throughout my day and can make a long list of everything wrong and sinful about myself. That is just in one day. Do not let the title cause you look at yourself as perfect, but rather look at yourself through the eyes of Christ. 

Historically, God called people to represent Him that world would consider weak or deficient. Passing over the strong and rich, he focused his work on the humble. People like Noah, Moses, David and Rahab. When God called them they were not rich and powerful or looked at as being anyone of importance.  Noah was an old man with a God-sized dream that no one understood. Moses had a speech impediment. David was a shepherd and Rahab a prostitute.

 1 Corinthians 1:26-28 says, “Think of what you were when you were called. Not many of you were wise by human standards; not may were influential; not many were of noble birth. But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong. God chose the lowly things of this world and the despised things—and the things that are not—to nullify the things that are.”

He wants us to be humble and acknowledge that we are weak. To find our weaknesses and persevere so that we may, “Finish its work and be mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way” (James 1:4) When we look at ourselves through the eyes of Christ, we see our weaknesses as being the strong hold of how God wants to use us.

 I have never considered myself a good public speaker. I am very outgoing, but never felt confidence in my ability to keep people interested in what I had to say. So often I stumble through stories or jokes, finding unable to get the point across clearly. Some of you may see me differently, but that is the way I have always looked at myself. It is interesting that God would call me to be a missionary then, huh? I remember that conversation with God… it was similar to the one Moses had on Mount Sinai when God called him. “I don’t talk well. I’ve never been good with words… I stutter and stammer.” (Ex 4:10) God’s response is the promise I go back to every time I feel deficient, “Now Go! I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.” (Ex. 4:12) I ask God to fill my mouth. I persevere through each moment, speaking through faith that God’s promise in James 1:4 is true! Paul tells us, “If you are lacking, then ask God, he will give you what you need generously.” (James 1:5) What I see as deficient God sees as a way to strengthen me and allow me to be used for His glory.

 “Be the kind God can use to present any and every kind of gift to his guests for their blessing.” (2 Tim 2:21) If you limit yourself to your deficiencies it doesn’t keep you open to allow God to use you in unique ways.

For example, I started writing scriptures on canvas a little over a year ago. I had never picked up a canvas, much less a paint brush in my life but God gave me a desire so I went with it. I wasn’t sure why I was doing it, but a year and 14 months later He had provided over $10,000 for Moldova and a daily reminder of the camp in over 400 homes world wide. The deficiency: I am a horrible speller and not creative artistically. Yet God took what I saw as negative about myself and used it for His good. I was able to bless others by being open to change. It didn’t make sense to me at first, but he made it sufficient.

 Look in your heart and find the weaknesses in your life. What is keeping you from fulfilling God’s purpose? What is holding you back from spreading his love for others? 

God wants to overcome your weaknesses. He came so that we would have LIFE and life more abundant.  He wants you to explore new skills, to get out of your box, to get out there and make the most of your life for His glory.  He loves you so much and made you in His image.

You are fearfully and wonderfully made, there is no deficiency in you. 

 

– Becky

Leave a Reply

