Live with Purpose

I know I wrote you a short email yesterday about how I hadn’t made a blog… well that inspired me to write 🙂

I wanted to share more about our time and encourage you. Sometimes it not clear why your gut feeling (for me that’s the Holy Spirit) tells you to do something or that something is right but you just know it’s what you’re supposed to follow in. We were unsure why God led us to Ukraine this summer, even after being here over a month I have moments of uncertainty. Our human instinct it to run when something goes wrong or not as expected. The gut feeling or Holy Spirit is what keeps us motivated to push through.

 “Look carefully then how you walk! Live purposefully and worthily and accurately, not as the unwise and witless, but as wise (sensible, intelligent people), making the very most of the time [buying up each opportunity], because the days are evil. Therefore do not be vague and thoughtless and foolish but understanding and firmly grasping what the will of the Lord is.” Ephesians 5:15-17

 When I read that this morning it hit me how little time we actually have on earth. So many people complain of how quickly time passes. So make the most of it!

I have begun to look at big and small areas of my life and search if I am truly walking in His will. Am I making the most of my time? Not just in Ukraine and Moldova but even at home with my friends and family. Do I live purposefully, worthily and accurately according to scripture? The values I uphold, are they consistent or do I only abide by then when its convenient for me? These are the kinds of questions laid on my heart.

 “Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.” Ps 37:4. That is the verse I have lived on this year! What a beautiful promise. When we don’t look at God, vaguely as a spiritual being that rules over and judges all mankind, but rather a just King who loves us so much that he “works everything for our good” and “gives us the desires of our heart” and sent his Son to save us so that our sins can be washed CLEAN. When you look at the relationship you can have with God it puts life in a whole new perspective. God will give you an understanding of His will. James 1:5 tells us that, “If you are lacking wisdom, ask for it and God will give it to you. But when you ask Him, be sure that your faith is in God alone.”

 If you are at a place in your life where you don’t know what the next step is ASK God for wisdom. When you do ask Him be sure you have the faith to back it up! We couldn’t have asked God for wisdom on how to raise money for Moldova Deaf Camp then turned around stressing about every move and taking all the glory for ourselves. That is not faith. That is only asking God cause it feels like the right thing to do… but do you really believe that He will provide for you??

I want to encourage you to seek the Lord, ask him for wisdom and believe that He will come through for you. Seek your heart and find the areas in your life that your not consistently walking purposefully, worthily and accurately. Ask for forgiveness and start making the changes in your life that will bring you closer to God and be filled to the brim!

 

-thewoodalls

 

Leave a Reply

