Meeting Strangers

Dorbe Otra [Good morning]

Insomnia /ɪnˈsɒmnɪə/ – the condition in which one is experiencing after being awake and traveling for 36 hours.

Yes, I may have arrived safely in Moldova, but my body clock is still in Oklahoma! I made it with only one luggage missing, which is fine considering it is only camp supplies (and we don’t need those until June). Hopeful, it will arrive today. Upon arrival, I met Vitaly and Natasha, our friends and Russian interpreters, with huge smiles! I am blessed to have such servants to work with. They are letting me stay in their home this week, that makes me double blessed.

We went right away to eat! Two Deaf leaders and two campers from last year met us at the restaurant, it was a nice surprise! I could barely keep my signs straight and my eyes open and before long I was way overdue sleep. unfortunately, I was only able to sleep four hours before waking up; and here we are 🙂

One short story: While on the last leg of flights, I was reading my Bible when a man next to me pointed to it and said something in Russian. I answered in Russian telling him I didn’t understand. He then pointed again, with a thumbs up he said in English, “Bible, good man.” I returned the thumbs up and responded in Russian, “Very good”. That opened up a tough exchange of the little English he knew and the little Russian I know. He said, “Isaiah five, four : one, zero”. Then I wrote Psalm 91:11. We both read the verses and shared a smile of encouragement! Thankful to have met a fellow believer! Even though we couldn’t communicate great, we were able to share the Word. His confidence in English grew and he told me, “Christ Jesus, good man. He in my heart. The whole world He made. Very glory, very glory.” Once off the plane, he helped me with my luggage. Before parting ways, we prayed for each other [using Vitaly to interpret]. It was so neat to be ministered to, even in lack of human words… it was the Word that allowed us to understand the purpose of our meeting! Don’t let the lack of words discourage you from speaking to someone about Christ. It didn’t stop my brother in Christ Nicoli!

“Though the mountains be shaken
    and the hills be removed,
yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken
    nor my covenant of peace be removed,”
    says the Lord, who has compassion on you.” Isaiah 54:10

Tomorrow we will go to one of the Deaf schools, please be in prayer with us for safe travels and good roads 🙂

Natasha and Vitaly meet me at the airport!

Natasha and Vitaly meet me at the airport!

-becky

 

One thought on “Meeting Strangers

Leave a Reply

