‘Paka’ Moldova [for now]

Dobre den!

It’s been a whirlwind of a week, and I have found it hard to sit down and write to you in depth. I currently am on my first of two legs home! I know I say it every time, but it is bitter-sweet. Saying goodbye to friends is never an easy thing.

The flood gates didn’t open until we began take-off. Maybe it’s the sleeplessness, missing my better half or the music I had in my ears, but I think it was my heart aching for the Deaf in Moldova. I want to do more. I desire to fix it all, but of course I cannot do that.

A mountain must be moved for the Deaf community to see equality. For Deaf children to be educated by people who use their language, to have interpreters provided for higher education and to allow Deaf to have access to ANY information they want, to change the mind set of culture who sees them an disabled and dumb… The good news is that my God CAN move mountains!!

He is using the hearts of Vladik, Vitaly and Natasha to stir up a change in people. Little by little, but it’s a movement beginning. It’s not acceptable anymore, and I believe God’s plan is being fulfilled. More resources have become available and awareness is getting out.

“Be still and know that I am God…” -Psalm 46:10

I was able to sit in on a meeting between the president of the Deaf agency and a representative of the U.S. Embassy discussing the needs and problems happening between the agency and government [Props to Vladik for interpreting between ASL and RSL for 2 hours]. What an opportunity to be present among the discussion of change. I was able to put my two cents in here and there, but mostly observing and praying. I know that the time is coming that Daniel and I will move to Moldova and be a part of this change. Even if it is simply through our Deaf camps. To be a light in the government and deaf agency. To let them know that their kids are taken care of in the summer times.

“…I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in all the earth.” – Psalm 46:10

We were able to go to the land we feel God is leading us to purchase. I will send a final blog with some pictures and video. It’s a GOD-SIZE dream. Those are the best though. It’s no longer, “if” but rather, “when” [Take a breath, mom]

I give God all the glory for the doors opened and shut. He only does good things and I look forward to all the good He has for our life in Moldova and the people’s there. Thank you for your continued prayers and support. Like I said, I will send out a final blog with information about the land and letting you know I made it back in one piece. God bless you all!

[Ps. Congratulations to my beautiful cousin and almost husband, as they celebrate their wedding day with the family! Miss you all, sorry I couldn’t make it!!]

Leave a Reply

